Homemade Fettuccine with Tomato & Sour-cream Sauce

IMG_20151128_195719453
Ready for cooking

I have been watching Masterchef Australia season 7 on TV regularly, which is making me aim for really ambitious kitchen feats. It doesn’t help that the “amateur” cooks make it all look so simple. Everyone seems to be  dishing out fettuccine, cannelloni, and rice noodles all under pressure in less than an hour.

So, inspired, I decided to take a shot at making fettuccine at home today. Not that I think this is ambitious.Making home-made pasta is fairly easy, just that it’s something we don’t think of making. I hadn’t until now anyway. I wasn’t expecting great quality because I don’t have a pasta machine. But I am pleasantly surprised by the results I got with only a rolling pin and knife. I will go back to store bought pasta only reluctantly because this does take a bit of time.

I have read through a number of recipes for making pasta dough, but what stuck with me was what Silvia Colloca said in the show I was watching on FoxLife today (don’t know the name of the show, caught it for the first time today).  She mentioned using 1 egg for each 100 gms of flour.

Ingredients

  • 200 gms organic wheat flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2-3 tsp water (if the dough isn’t coming together)

Method

I placed the flour on the kitchen platform into a small heap. I then made a well in the flour and added the whisked egg, salt and oil. I slowly started incorporating the flour into the liquid mixture without letting anything run out onto the rest of the platform. I then kneaded the flour adding just a tsp of water if needed. I made the dough really soft and smooth. I had read that the trick to use is to knead putting your body pressure onto the flat of your palm. That really worked for me. I then let the dough rest for a few hours.

Next, I floured my kitchen surface and rolled the dough out into a fairly thin circle.

IMG_20151128_192322863

I kept adding the dry flour onto the dough to prevent it from sticking. Once my dough was sufficiently rolled out, I sprinkled flour on top and rolled the circle into a flat wrap, something like a spring roll. I then cut that roll into thin strips and unfurled them.

Roll and Cut
Roll and Cut

Once I was through with all the dough, I cooked the pasta al dente.

Ready for the sauce
Ready for the sauce

Note: Once the pasta is rolled out and shaped, it needs to be cooked asap. It takes a lot less time to cook this pasta than the store-bought one. About 5-6 mins in boiling salt water, and you’re done.

Pasta Sauce

As much as I would have liked to make an Alfredo or Carbonara for my fettucine, I decided on a tomato and sour cream sauce to finish stuff up.

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe tomatoes finely chopped
  • 1/2 onion
  • 6 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of sour cream (left over from my batch from last week)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • Italian seasoning
  • chilli flakes

Method

This is a super easy sauce and you can pretty much make it in any way you want to. I first heated my pan, added some olive oil, followed by the garlic and chilli flakes. I love adding chilli flakes at the beginning to intensify the colour and add more depth to the sauce.

IMG_20151128_161857574

I then added the onions and sautéed till they turned soft. Next, tumbled the tomatoes in and cooked till they softened. I kept adding a little bit of hot water to avoid the mixture from burning. Next, I added the sour cream, mixed everything together, and brought the sauce to a boil.

Saucy
Saucy

I then lowered the heat and let the sauce simmer for 2-3 minutes, added the salt and pepper, and done!

I just tumbled in the cooked pasta into the sauce, gave it a nice stir for all the pasta strands to be coated and voila!

Buen Appetito Tutti
Buen Appetito Tutti
Leave a Reply

