Malvani Fish Curry and Fish Fry

I had been dying to have Bangada fry (mackerel) from such a long time, but round about the time I started having the cravings, our daily fishwalla stopped coming. But today he finally came and I got 4 mackerels from him. I decided to make a curry out of two, and a fry out of the other two.

IMG_4657

Fish Fry

Ingredients

  • 2 mackerels with diagonal cuts
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 pinch of asafoetida
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 3 tsps kokum concentrate (salty, not sweet)
  • 1/2 cup semolina mixed with salt, turmeric, chili powder.

Don’t sweat if you don’t have kokum. I don’t always have it, and use lime juice instead. But kokum does have a very distinct flavor and a beautiful deep ruby red color that reminds me of all the tiny beach towns in Konkan.

Method

Rub the fish with the kokum, turmeric, chili powder and asafoetida and set aside for a minimum of 30 mins.IMG_4640

Once the fish is well marinated, dip it in the semolina mixture such that it’s entirely covered with it.

You can either deep fry it at this point, or just brush some oil on it and roast on a pan. I go for the second option. That’s it, the easy peasy fish fry is ready.

Fish Curry

IMG_4628

Ingredients

  • 2 mackerels cut into pieces
  • 1/2 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp malvani masala (or regular chili powder)
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1 large onion (1/2 roughly chopped, half finely chopped)
  • 1/2 small tomato
  • 2-3 pieces of kokum
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk (I make this from coconut milk powder. make it as thin or as thick as you like)
  • 7-8 garlic cloves
  • 2 green chilies slit length-wise (optional)

If you happen to have fresh coconut, use that instead of milk while making the ground paste. I almost never have it so go for coconut milk instead.

Method

Grind the coriander, fennel, cumin, chili powder, tomato, 1/2 roughly chopped onion, garlic into a consistent paste.

Heat some oil in a pan and sautee the other 1/2 finely chopped onion well. Add the paste and mix well. Next, add the coconut milk and bring it all to a boil.IMG_4650

Add the fish pieces, the kokum, and the slit chilies and let it all cook together for 10-12 mins.

Your malvani fish curry is ready. Serve garnished with coriander along and rice. I cooked red boiled rice today for some extra fiber and healthy touch. It helps that we really like the taste and texture too.

 

 

5 comments

  1. Oh yum. What price did he quote for bangda today? I love bombil fried with rava. It is one of my mostest favoritest fish preparations. Unfortunately bombil is simply not available here. There is a reason why it is called Bombay Duck I guess. Only available around the Maharashtra coastline 😦 I fry bangda without rava. If you ever go to a Chettinad restaurant, ask for sora puttu. That is the shark fish preparation I was telling you about and it is generally available only in Chettinad restaurants though I only like it the way my mother makes it. In the US, I used to make it with tilapia because that was the only substitute I found for shark there.

    • He quoted 280/kilo. Is that standard? I am buying fish after more than 8-9 months. This guy has great fish. When I asked if it was fresh, he said ,”double guarantee.” 😀 And boy was he right!

      I’ve never eaten bombil or shark. 😦 Too new to the fish world I guess. I have only ever had surmai, pomfret and bangada. I’ll try Shark in Anjappar maybe. Have you been there?

      • Fresh fish, so yumulicious. Would recommend Aachis in Indiranagar over Anjappar though they make sora puttu very differently from my mother’s. I love their chicken biryani, but some folks find it too spicy.

        I think since he is delivering it to your home and maybe because it is monsoon, 280 is okay. Usually, 200-220 is what is standard for bangda at the Karnataka Fisheries outlet.

      • Hey R. Back from fish buying this morning and realized that I never have bought fish over the weekends. I usually purchase it on weekdays on my way back from office. Anyway, the price for bangda today was 250/kg. Maybe prices do climb over the weekend. Just in case I inadvertently caused any degree of alarm with my previous comment about the average price range 😦

      • Hehehe…No no. No alarm. I have never purchased fish on a weekday. must try. The fishwallah who comes to our lane has more variety on the weekends. I think he has shark too.

Leave a Reply

