Stuffed Veggie Rolls

The weather is really nice today. It’s dark and has been raining on and off. All I can think of eating is piping hot tomato soup and healthy, veggie loaded, whole wheat rolls. And that’s exactly what I did.

IMG_4609

Ingredients

For the dough

IMG_4563

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • extra all purpose flour for kneading
  • 1 cup water warm
  • 3/4 tsp dry yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp olive oil (to coat the dough)

For the stuffing

IMG_4574

  • 1 tsp butter
  • 3 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 carrots diced
  • 1/4 green pepper diced (optional)
  • 1 cheese cube, grated
  • 1 tsp all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Method

Step 1

I added the yeast and sugar to the warm water and left it for 15 mins till the mixture was all foamy. Meanwhile, I kept the whole wheat flour ready with the salt. I then added these two and kneaded with dough hooks till I had a sticky dough mass.

Step 2

I tumbled the sticky mass on my floured kitchen platform and kneaded for 10 mins or until the dough had become a soft and springy ball.

Step 3

I then left the dough in an oiled bowl for about 90 mins.

IMG_4568

Step 4

While the dough was proofing, I prepped the stuffing. I heated some butter in the pan and added the garlic and onions. Once that was soft and translucent, I added the rest of the veggies and cooked till the veggies became soft.

IMG_4576

I then sprinkled the 1 tsp all purpose flour on the veggies, mixed well, and added the milk and mixed briskly. This formed a thick saucy consistency. This is my lazy. cheat, white sauce. I then added the salt, pepper, and cheese and mixed well till the cheese had melted.

IMG_4583

At this stage, if you find the mixture too thick, feel free to add some water. But don’t make it too watery.

IMG_4588

Step 5

While the dough was mid-way through, I preheated the oven to 220 degrees C. I then punched the dough back, kneaded it for another minute, and divided it into small portions, about 8. I then lightly kneaded each portion again, and flattened it into a disc with my hands.

I then added some stuffing and pinched the corners close. I then shaped it into a smoother ball with the pinched corners at the bottom and placed it on the baking tray.

IMG_4605

Once all the balls were ready, I left them covered with a wet tea towel for a second rising

Step 6

I bumped the rolls in the preheated oven and baked till the house was filled with a warm, yeasty, bready aroma and the top of the rolls looked golden.

That’s it really. I barely contained myself for 5 mins and dug in.

4 comments

    • Thank you!! I’m planning to make it again today on husband’s demand. That generally never happens as he is a finicky eater. But if he likes it, it can be qualified as a safe dish.

Leave a Reply

