Mid-week Savior Pasta

What follows is a super-simple, delicious, tomato-based pasta recipe. It’s so easy and devoid of any culinary skill that you just cannot not make it. Plus, if the husband likes a non-Indian dish, it’s an indicator of a generally unsurprising but comforting taste.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion
  • 3-4 tomatoes
  • 1/2 bell pepper (optional)
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic
  • Any pasta (Today I’m using whole wheat fusili, but have used spaghetti, farfalle, macaroni, and penne in the past)
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • As much basil as you like
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup milk (optional)
  • salt and pepper

IMG_4544

Method

Step 1

Toss in the onions and tomatoes, and bell pepper in a heated pan and let it sweat till the onion starts appearing translucent and soft. No oil is required in this step, and the tomatoes will start releasing water and it wont burn. Let this cool. Meanwhile, look how cool my basil plant looks even when it is in this totally random setting. Also, just to brag, I have 10 other equally beautiful plants on the balcony. yay!

DSCN1260

Once the tomatoes and onions cool, blend it all into a smooth puree.

Step 2

While the tomatoes and onions cool a bit, cook the pasta al dente in a separate vessel.

Step 3

Heat the olive oil in the pan lightly. Throw in finely chopped garlic and chili flakes. Throwing in chili flakes at this stage deepens the red color. It also emanates an earthy chili and garlic aroma that can yank you out of the mid-week melancholy.

Step 4

Add the puree and let it cook for 5 mins. Then add salt and pepper. Toss in the cooked pasta and mix lightly. Don’t over do it. Turn off the heat, sprinkle over loads and loads of basil and mix lightly again. Don’t cook further after adding basil.

Enjoy!

IMG_4549

4 comments

  1. Carb overload does wonders to soul šŸ™‚ And so do your beautiful plants. I haven’t managed to kill your mint. Yet. I hope it doesn’t die on me.

    • Tell me about it! I’m sure you’ll make the plant thrive. I have full faith in you. šŸ™‚ Just keep cutting 2-3 inches from the top. It’ll grow better.

  2. It looks lovely! Both the pasta and the plant. Cheers!!
    I love tomato based sauces for my pasta.. You have so much of basil now, you should try some pesto for pastas and sandwiches! Dont know if you like it. Its my absolute favorite.

    • Thank you! šŸ™‚

      I love pesto, but the husband doesn’t. And I can never bring myself to use enough olive oil to make a really good pesto. I hold back too much. šŸ˜¦ So I have started doing a something pestoey thing where I chop basil really finely, almost like parsley and then mix in salt, pepper, and EVO oil. It’s yum on crusty fresh bread. My mouth is watering. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

