Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

I needed a finish a packet of mushrooms today. And with my fresh supply of lovely, organic carrot, I decided to go to my old favorite: Chunky and creamy veggie soup with whatever veggies are available. And what better way to make a simple light dinner a bit fancy by adding dinner rolls to the equations.

So here’s what I did.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup warm milk
  • 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • salt as per taste
  • Oil for the bowl

Step 1

I added the yeast, butter, and sugar to the warm milk and mixed well. I left this for 10-15 mins to rise. I then whisked the egg in.

Step 2

I then added the wet mixture to flour and salt and mixed it well with the dough hooks of a hand mixer. I then left this to rise for 5 mins, and then kneaded the dough with hands for 5 mins until it was soft and perky. I then left the dough in an oiled bowl covered with a wet tea towel for about an hour, on until it was twice it’s size.

Ready to be punched down
Ready to be punched down

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: I didn’t flour the surface to knead this time. I rubbed some oil instead. This is required for dinner rolls to prevent the surface from drying out.

Step 3

I then punched the dough back, and kneaded it for another minute.  I then followed the instructions from this video to make shape it like rosette rolls.

I first divided the dough and rolled it into longish ropes.

Ready to be knotted.
Ready to be knotted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ready to rest
Ready to rest

I then baked the shaped rolls for 20 mins in a 180 degrees Celsius preheated oven. And voila!

Can't wait
Can’t wait
8 comments

  1. I am going to try this. I discovered my stash of Yeast while spring cleaning which I got from the UK from my last trip. You didn’t have to put any Maida in it? Just checking!

    • Hey…No. No maida at all in the dough. I dust some on the kitchen platform while kneading though. So that should come to an additional 1/4 cup or less while kneading.

    • Really?? Thank you thank you thank you!! You are the first one to say that. At least three different people said my pics sucked. 😦

      I have heard of Yummily. Will do that. Need to check foodgawker out. Thank you so much for suggesting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

