Jamaican Jerk Chicken

This happens to be one of my most favorite chicken dishes. And it’s rather odd that I haven’t tried this recipe before today. Anyway, for some odd reason I started feeling like I needed to make this a couple of days back. And then, honest to my usual process, I rummaged the internet for recipes and then decided upon the following of my own that could accommodate all my favorite ingredients.

As much as I would like to use Scotch Bonnet peppers, they are not easy to come by here. So I settled for regular chilies. Note that the ingredients given below are all rough measurements. I hardly every actually measure out anything.

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken chicken leg pieces
  • 5 fat cloves of garlic
  • 2 inch piece of ginger
  • One medium sized onion roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fresh thyme
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 30 ml dark rum
  • 25 ml cider or white wine vinegar
  • 1 heaped tsp pepper
  • 2 birds eye chilies
  • Since I don’t have allspice powder, I used this combination (1/2 tsp clove powder + 1/2 tsp nutmeg + 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder (because I like the thick gravy like texture that cumin brings)
  • 1 tsp neutral flavored oil
Ingredients
Ingredients

Method:

Step 1: I blended all the dry and wet ingredients to form a thick marinade.

Step 2: I made diagonal cuts into the chicken and poured the marinade all over it and then rubbed it into the chicken to make sure every bit was covered with this ointment. I left the chicken to marinate and soak in all the flavor for about 7-8 hours

Chicken with diagonal cuts
Chicken with diagonal cuts

 

ready for the fridge
ready for the fridge

Step 3: I pre-heated by oven at 220 degrees C and arranged the chicken on a baking tray and straight into the oven. I cooked this for about 25-30 minutes. I kept basting the chicken with the left over marinade. And voila!

With Bulgar Wheat Salad
With Bulgar Wheat Salad

Tip: I added some Hungarian sweet paprika just to give it that fiery red color. I don’t think it makes any difference to the taste, so totally optional.

 

 

8 comments

  1. Wow! This looks delicious. And the recipe is so uncomplicated. I am totally going to try this. Will have to compromise on a few ingredients such as fresh thyme, but will give it a go, nevertheless.

    • It is totally uncomplicated. Just a lot of ingredients, but very little effort. Don’t sweat about the thyme. Most recipes call for fresh and dry thyme both. I used only fresh. You could use only dried. You know what, I realized that thyme has a very strong ajwain like flavour. If you don’t get dried thyme, try adding 1/2 tsp ajwain powder instead.

      • You are right about the ajwain thing. I wasnt liking the dried herb mix that I bought once. And it went unused because it had a strong bitter ajwain flavour. I analyzed the contents and came to the conclusion that there was a lot of thyme in it. It however looks so beautiful when the chefs on TLC add it to their chicken or roasted potatoes that I really wish to make a recipe that specially call for it!

      • Yeah. I love how thyme looks. Such delicate leaves. I want to grow it, but not sure how. I just stuck a bunch of them in a glass of hoping. I’m hoping they’ll have roots like mint, and I’ll translplant them. I love to rub the leaves on my palms. It’s such a nice smell. I actually happen to love ajwain and those kind of herbs

Leave a Reply

