Simple Spaghetti with Roasted Aubergine

Well, the plan today was to make the much anticipated aubergine lasagne, only to realize at the very last moment that I had only three sheets in stock. That sucks! But then I had signed up for a tomato and aubergine pasta today, and that I shall have…one way or the other. So here’s what I did.

Ingredients

  • Spaghetti (cooked al dente)
  • 3 ripe tomatoes
  • about 1/4 cup of tomato puree
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1/4 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • a couple of fresh basil leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • One aubergine
Ingredients at a glance
Ingredients at a glance

Step 1

Making the sauce: I heated some olive oil in a pan and three in the garlic and onion and sauteed till they softened and turned translucent.

I then added the peppers and chopped tomatoes and cooked for a few minutes. When the veggie mix had just begin to stick to the bottom of the pan, i threw in the red wine to de-glaze. I let the wine infuse the veggies and then threw in the tomato puree. I simmered this mix for 15 -20 minutes and then added the salt, pepper, and basil and stirred. There! we are done.

Just before simmering
Just before simmering

Step 2

Preparing the egg plant: I cut the egg plan in fairly thin (but not paper-thin) disks and browned them on a heated pan with just a bit of oil brushed over them. I then seasoned them with salt an pepper.

Roasted eggplant
Roasted eggplant

Step 3

Plating: I then served the cooked spaghetti in the plate, topped it with the sauce and then the eggplant discs. I grated some cheese over it as a final flourish.

Another option would be to add the roasted eggplant during the last phase of the sauce simmering. But I like to put it on top of the sauce to retain the colour and texture.

Leave a Reply

