Fragrant Rice Paper Rolls

A friend was coming over last weekend. It was the perfect opportunity to try something new, given that the husband is a creature of habit and doesn’t venture much into culinary experimentation. It’s only natural then that I was excited to try something new. This time, it was rice paper rolls, Thai style!

Ingredients:

  • Rice paper (about 10 sheets)
  • About 150 gms minced chicken
  • 1 inch piece of ginger
  • 1 chilli
  • 1 stalk of lemon-grass
  • 3-4 basil leaves
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tsp fish sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • 1 finely chopped carrot

Step 1

Prepare the stuffing. I started off by grinding the chilli, lemon grass, fish sauce, basil leaves, ginger and garlic into a coarse paste.

I then heated a tsp of oil and lightly sauteed the onion and garlic. I then threw in the fragrant paste and mixed it well. I then added the mince and cooked with 2-3 tbsp of water for about 4 mins or until the chicken was cooked. I then seasoned it with salt and pepper, and let it cool a bit.

Step 2

All that was left to do at this point was wet the rice paper just enough to make it malleable to roll. For this, I took a deep dish and filled it with water. Immersed the paper in the water for about 15 seconds and placed it on a kitchen towel. This is to make sure that the excess water is absorbed.

I then took a bit of the stuffing and carefully placed it on the end of the paper closer to me, making sure there was enough space between the edges. I then folded the paper to encase the stuffing and tucked the empty ends in and folded it further till I reached the end of the paper. I applied just a bit of water to the ends and this point and sealed the roll. That’s it! That easy!

This blog post explains the wrapping process much better than I did.

20141122_171552

Leave a Reply

