Caramel Custard Pudding

There’s something so soothing and silken about a good slice of Caramel Custard Pudding that I often end up making one, especially when I have some time and the kitchen is clean enough for me to mess it up with several pots instead of getting worried about having to clean the already big pile.

So, to cut the long story short, here’s how it goes.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp brown sugar and 1 tbsp water ( for the caramel)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp white sugar for the custard
  • vanilla essence
  • 350 ml milk

Method:

Step 1

Prepare the caramel. I made a cheat version of the caramel by using brown sugar. Making a good caramel is sort of a game of luck for me. Sometimes I get it perfect and sometimes I end up wasting too much sugar and a lot more patience. So I just put the sugar in a heavy-bottomed non-stick pan with the water and kept moving the pan gently till a sticky brown sauce was formed. I then poured it into a greased pan.

Step 2 

Prepare the custard. I warmed the milk with the white sugar, making sure it wasn’t too hot. I then gently whisked the eggs with the vanilla essence and added the milk while stirring the mix with a wooden spatula. It avoids accidentally cooking the eggs. I then passed this mix through a sieve to get the extra smooth texture and poured it in the tin on top of the caramel.

Step 3

Cooking the custard. I cooked this custard in a steamer. As much as I’d have liked to bake it in the oven with a water bath, I am a bit scared of the resultant steam damaging my oven. So I basically had started heating the water while I was making the custard. Once I had poured it into the tin, I covered the tin with foil and gently popper it into the steamer vessel that would be mounted on top of the pot of boiling water. I then covered the steamer pot and cooked for about 40 minutes.

Once out of the steamer, I let it cool for 5-10 mins till I was able to hold the tin with bare hands and gently tumbled it on a plate. There, done!

Leave a Reply

