Chewy Multigrain Bread

I had breakfast at the cafe of Max Mueller Institute for German language studies a couple of weeks back. The bread they served with their omelette was superb. It was dense, dark and had loads of seeds. I was so in love with the whole culinary experience that I had to try my hand at it. The results turned out to be pretty good. So much so that I made this bread for the husband’s parents when they were here last week and they loved it too. It goes without saying then that this bread is going to be baked often in my kitchen. 🙂

IMG_3690
What’s left to do but bite in?

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 3/4 cups whole wheat flour (coursely ground)
  • 1/4 cup mixture of pumpkin and sesame seeds and oats
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp salt (I eat really salty food, so feel free to adjust as per your preferences)
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp fresh yeast granules
  • warm water with 1/2 tsp sugar dissolved to activate yeast
  • 1 tsp oil to coat the bowl
  • 1/2 tsp milk

Step 1

I warmed some water and dissolved some sugar in it. Then lightly whisked in the yeast and left it alone it it bubbled up. I then added the honey to the mix and whisked gently.

Step 2

Mixed the salt well with the flour and added the yeast mix and blended all together to form a rather sticky mass. I make sticky dough at the beginning and then keep kneading it with all purpose flour till I get the desired texture.

Step 3

I kept kneading it for a good 10 minutes till the dough ball became smooth and elastic. I then tumbled it into an oiled bowl and covered with a damp tea towel. I then left this in a warm place for about 2 hours till it had doubled up.

Step 4

I punched the dough down and kneaded for another 2 minutes after adding the seeds to it. I then shaped it into a loaf and covered it with a damp towel for about half and hour while the oven was preheating to 175 degrees C.

Step 5

I brushed the milk on the loaf which had risen again and then sprinkled some oats on top. I then bumped the loaf into the oven and baked for 30 minutes or till the load had turned a beautiful golden brown.

Once the bread was out of the oven, I let it cool and sliced it. I have hardly ever been so pleased with my bread. The texture and taste were perfect. It was dense and chewy and the seeds added to the texture and the surprise element.

IMG_3687
Right out the oven
2 comments

    • Thank you! Do try and let me know the results. I hardly ever make anything the same way twice, but this one I did. 🙂 Even my husband, the rather fussy eater, liked it a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

