Buttermilk Cluster (Whole wheat)

So  couple days back I finally managed to experiment with making a buttermilk cluster. Something that was on my agenda since long.

20140209_152217
cluster indeed

I modified the recipe from the fresh loaf, which is where I first saw the picture and was smitten. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (about 225 grams)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp honey
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds for topping

Step 1

I added the yeast to the warm water and sugar and let it rise. While the yeast did its own work, I mixed the flour and salt together.

Step 2

I mixed all the ingredients (except for the sesame seeds) together and mixed well to form a sticky mass.

Step 3

I tipped the mass on a heavily floured surface and kneaded the dough for a good 10 minutes until it held it form and sprung back when I poked it with my finger. I then bumped it into an oiled bowl covered with a damp towel.

Step 4

When the dough had risen (about 2 hours), I punched it down and shaped it into small balls and arranged them in an oiled and floured round tin. I again left these covered with a damp towel for about 30 mins while the oven was preheating to about 200 degrees c.

Step 5

I then bumped the tin into the oven and baked for about 30 minutes or until the top was golden brown. I couldn’t wait much so in about 5-10 mins I released the cluster from the tin. It came out easy.

20140209_152908

The rolls turned out pretty soft. I had them with ghee and dry chutney (recipe coming soon).

Leave a Reply

