Simple Whole Wheat Bread II

This is by far my best whole wheat loaf. The colour was perfect and the texture was so much to my liking that I couldn’t stop smiling, all happy with myself…even a bit boastful, I admit.

IMG_3569

It surprises me how much a dish can change with a different brand of wheat or yeast. I pretty much followed the exact same recipe as my No fuss whole wheat bread, only this time I used a bit more yeast, organic wheat flour (although I’m not too sure if that made the difference) and kneaded the dough for 6-7 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (approximately 250 gms)
  • some all purpose flour for dusting and kneading
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 tsp rice bran oil (any odourless oil is fine)
  • 3 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • salt to taste

As is usual and part of every single of my bread recipes, I warmed the water, added sugar to it and dissolved the yeast in. I left this aside to froth. About 15 minutes. Meanwhile mixed all the dry ingredients together and then added the yeast mixture and egg. Kneaded with dough hooks to form a sticky mass and tumbled it on a floured surface. I then kneaded it, working the all purpose flour in, till a smooth, sticky ball was formed.

I then left it covered with cling in an oiled bowl for about 2 hours or till it had doubled in size. I then punched it, kneaded for another 2 minutes and shaped it.

I oiled and floured my bread tin and gently put the loaf in it. I kept the tin in a plastic bag in such a way that the bag didn’t touch the top of the bread, allowing it space to rise further.

Meanwhile, I preheated the oven to 180 degrees. Once the loaf had risen again, I bumped it into the oven for about 30 minutes. After about 10 mins in the oven, I took the loaf out and brushed it with some egg white that was left over after using the yolk for the bread dough. This gave it a lovely glossy finish on the top. And voila!!

IMG_3560

IMG_3570

IMG_3574

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

