Moist Chocolate cake with choco-whiskey ganache

My little sister is here and she’s been asking me to make a chocolate cake since forever. I anyway wanted to try that recipe with boiling water. Plus my husband has some work party he has to go to and I thought of surprising him with a cake he could carry.

IMG_3548
Moist Chocolate Cake

I pretty much followed this recipe for my chocolate cake. It’s a totally no fuss recipe.

Ingredients:

For the cake

  • 2 cups self-raising flour (regular all purpose flour is fine too)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup fine sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 cup toned/skimmed milk
  • 1/2 cup oil (any odourless oil would do. I used rice bran oil which I am currently using for cooking)
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs

For the ganache

  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chopped
  • 1/2 cup cream (ganache recipes normally have heavy double cream, but I use light one and it works just as well)
  • 2 tsp whiskey

Method

I mixed the milk, oil, essence and eggs together in a blender. In another vessel I had mixed together the flour, baking powder, cocoa and sugar. I added the egg mixture to this and mixed well. I then added the boiling water and mixed well again. I had already oiled the baking tin and dusted with flour. I then poured the mixture over and baked for 30 mins in a 180 degrees preheated oven.

IMG_3527
Ready for some chocolate love

I then let the cakes cool on the wire rack for 2 hours. Meanwhile, I melted the chocolate and the cream together for the ganache. For this, I placed the pan with chocolate and cream over a pot of boiling water. In short, I made a make shift double boiler. Once a thick glossy mixture was formed, I added the whisky to it. I then poured it over the cake and evened it out. I then decorated it with finely chopped candied citrus peel I had made some time back.

And time to cut a slice.

IMG_3544
Decadent and sinful

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

