Do Chua (Vietnamese pickle)

IMG_3512[1]

I can’t get enough of pickles. Be it the vinegary tangy pickles from the west or the spicy Indian pickles, no meal is complete without pickles. I wrote the other day about how I had gone to eat Pho at a Vietnamese place and ended up eating a bottle and a half of the delicious pickle they had on each table. That’s when I decided to never not have a bottle of Do Chua or the typical Vietnamese sweet and sour carrot and radish pickle. The ease of making it leaves no reason to not have it.

Ingredients

  • 2 large radishes cut into
  • 2 medium sized carrots
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1 cup warm water to dissolve the sugar

I cut the veggies in match sticks.IMG_3509[1]I then sprinkled the salt and 2 tsp of sugar over it. I then started mixing it well together. The trick is to keep mixing till the veggies become soft and there is some liquid in the bowl. If you fold the matchstick ends, they should be able to fold without breaking. Once that’s possible, you can stop mixing. I then strained the excess liquid and held the colander under cold running water. Once that was done and the excess water had run off, I filled the mixture into a clean jar.

I then mixed the water, sugar and vinegar and poured it over the veggies in the bottle. I’ll now keep it refrigerated for 3-4 days before digging in. Although I do realise that I should’ve either used a smaller jar or had more veggies.

Here are a couple of veggies I pickled in the last few days:

IMG_3513[1]

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

