Chocolate Surprise Loaf

I had been craving for something chocolatey but something not very decadent. Just a hint. So nothing like my favourite bread with a hint of chocolate. I had recently made parsley rolls and decided to use a similar technique.

IMG_3508
Ready to be served

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour (about 120 gms)
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (about 120 gms)
  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup warm milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp sugar

For chocolate filling

  • 1/2 cup chopped dark chocolate
  • 2 heaped tbsp cream

I started off by dissolving yeast in warm milk and water and sugar. In 20 minutes it had become all frothy. I then mixed this into the flour mixture, added the egg and formed a loose dough. I then kneaded it on a heavily floured surface till it formed into a soft ball. I then left it in an oiled bowl covered with cling. In an hour it had more than doubled. I then punched it down and kneaded it a little more.

IMG_3498
Chocolate filling

I then rolled it into a rectangle roughly and spread the chocolate and cream mixture leaving the sides uncovered. For    the chocolate mixture, I melted the chocolate over a double boiler, added the cream and mixed to form a thick and smooth spreadable paste.

I then rolled it into three folds as best as I could. This is a bit tricky as the absence of any salt makes the dough really light and fluffy. I then scored the loaf and left it covered with a damp kitchen towel for sometime.

While it rested, I preheated the oven to 180 degrees and then bumped the loaf into the oven for about 15 minutes. The loaf had more than doubled. I peeked into the oven through the glass door and what a lovely sight. The loaf had almost quadrupled. I am really beginning to believe that the absence of salt works wonders for dough.

Keep checking the oven though. This is what my loaf looked in less than 12 minutes. That could also be because my oven had been on for a long time as I had baked some chicken before. Anyway, I left it to cool on the wire rack for about half an hour (or less). I couldn’t resist the temptation of cutting through the soft, pillowy loaf.

IMG_3500
Straight out of the oven

IMG_3503

Leave a Reply

