Spicy Healing Tea

I am down with cold and fever. My sore throat is making it hard to swallow anything and I have a choked nose. What’s the thing that you crave for in such a state of mind? I normally crave for a spicy, peppery, thin soup. Preferably something with loads of ginger and lemongrass. But today I wanted a spicy yet sweet tea.

IMG_3449[1]

The ingredients I used are what you see in the picture above but here’s a list anyway.

  • 1 tsp black tea powder
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 inch piece of turmeric root grated
  • 1/2 inch piece of ginger grated
  • 3-4 pepper corns crushed
  • lemon grass as per your taste

Honestly, this tea is hardly any different from the standard ginger chai that is a staple in India. Just that I have a lot of turmeric root right now and I’m trying to find ways to use it. This is the first experiment. I love the aroma of fresh peeled turmeric root…a lot more than turmeric powder. It’s also a lot more mellow than the powdered form. And the lovely orange colour is treat to the eye.

Anyway, so I put the water to boil. Added sugar and the rest of the ingredients apart from tea to the pot. Once it started boiling gently I added the tea and brought it to a good boil.

IMG_3452[1]

I then turned the heat off and let it stand covered for a minute before adding some milk. I add very little milk as I like my tea thin and watery. And that’s it.

IMG_3453[1]

The turmeric (which is rather unheard of in tea) blends really well with its root friend ginger. All the spices get along really well in this combination actually and I instantly feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

