First Pickles of the Year

Nothing gets me more excited than spending a morning or evening pickling different foods. I love pickles. I am a vinegar junkie and the intense, sour smell of any vinegar gets me drooling in anticipation of the salty, sour and crunchy pickles. My friend Kitty gifted me 2 lovely jars for new years so that I could pickle more. I had been wanting to try Kim’s pickled onions recipe since forever. Finally I had the best set of conditions yesterday and ended up making a small jar of pickled onions and one medium jar of pickled red cabbage.

Pickled onions

I mostly stuck to Kim’s recipe but had to make some alterations coz I barely pickled 200 gms of onions as against her massive batch. 🙂 Plus, I didn’t have any wine vinegar. So I used regular synthetic vinegar instead.

Ingredients:

IMG_3395[1]

  • 1/2 cup synthetic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 5 crushed pepper corns
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

I brought all the ingredients except for the onions & the balsamic vinegar. I then tumbled in the onions and boiled for 3-4 minutes.IMG_3398[1]

I then transferred just the onions to my jar.

IMG_3399[1]

I had kept the jar in a huge vessel with boiling water for about 10 minutes. I am not much of a canner but from my previous experience, this sort of sterilizing effort is more than enough for home pickles.

I then added the balsamic vinegar to the liquid as per Kim’s recipe. I then poured the hot liquid over the onions and immediately closed the lid.

IMG_3402[1]

The green bottle next to the onions is lemonade. I mean I have to have something while working, isn’t it?

Stay tuned for post about pickled red cabbage.

One comment

Leave a Reply

