Spicy flaxseed oatmeal wholewheat bread

Okay, so I’ve wanted to use flaxseeds in something for a long long time. The main reason being that in my ignorance, I thought it was a rare thing to obtain here and actually ordered a huge quantity online…only to later realise that it was available at every corner store. Hmmmmmmmmm, but anyway, this did lead to trying to finish it in form of a bread…and what a wise decision!

IMG_3355

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups wholewheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal (made by grinding seeds in the mixie…have no idea if flaxseed meal is supposed to be something different)
  • 2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup warm milk
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • salt
  • 1 tsp fennel seed powder
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • 1/2 tsp carom seeds (ajwain)

So, here as well I followed all the steps from my usual bread-making routine. But for the benefit of my few readers, here’s a quick summary of what I did.

I added the yeast to the warm milk & water with 1/2 tsp of sugar and left it alone to froth. Meanwhile I took all the dry ingredients and mixed them well with my dough hooks. I then added the other ingredients and kneaded to form a sticky dough. I then tipped it onto a floured surface to make it into a soft ball.IMG_3351

I then left it in a warm spot in an oiled bowl covered with cling. After about 2-3 hours it had risen to twice its size.

IMG_3352

I then punched it down and kneaded it for another minute. I then shaped it into a log as per instructions from this video.

IMG_3353

I then left the shaped loaf for another hour. Meanwhile I pre-heated the oven to 180 degrees C for 15 mins. I then tipped the loaf into the oven after brushing it with a mixture of egg and water. 30 minutes later I had a nice golden loaf that filled my kitchen with a warm bread and fennel seeds aroma.

IMG_3356

Leave a Reply

