No fuss whole wheat bread

I am insanely obsessed with making breads right now, as you can see from the previous posts: all about breads. But let’s face it. It can be quite annoying to knead the bread dough. And don’t even get me started on the cleaning that you need to do later. So I read up on quite a few articles on no-kneading breads, or minimal kneading breads with very little manual labour. I found a pretty nice video and started off from there.

I made a couple of changes on the go. Here’s what I did.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 small cups whole wheat flour (about 225 gms)
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • warm water as needed
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

I started off with dry mixing the salt and flour like I always do. I then added all the ingredients and mixed with dough hooks for about 4 mins.

IMG_3341

Once I had a bit of a sticky mixture (sticky, not runny), I placed in an oiled bowl covered for about 2 hours. After that, once it was risen, I punched it down gently and kneaded folding in the dough towards me, for about 2 mins. I then gave it a rough loaf like shape and placed it in an oiled bread tin.

The different thing about this recipe was to place the tin in a plastic bag and place it in the fridge overnight. Ideally in the morning, the dough should’ve risen to twice its original size. But mine didn’t even a little bit. This was inspite of me living in India where even now the weather is considerably warm.

In the morning, in my desperation I just took the tin with the plastic and kept it on the terrace under the sun for 2 hours. Now, the dough had nicely risen and filled up the tin. In fact, the heat had slow-cooked the top (not what I expected or wanted). But I was happy with the rise anyway.

IMG_3344

I agree this looks a tad gross. The dent was caused while peeling the plastic away. But I smoothed it alright with water.I then preheated the oven to 180 degrees C for about 10 mins and banged the tin into the oven and cooked for about 25 mins with the heat on from the bottom. And then, for the last 5 mins, I turned the heat on just from the top. I did get a reasonably tempting but again a slightly burnt laof…this is fast becoming my trademark style.

Anywhoo, the load did sound hollow and it tastes great with the slight sweetness of honey and full robust flavour of the wheat made more complex with the overnight rise.

IMG_3346

One comment

  1. […] change with a different brand of wheat or yeast. I pretty much followed the exact same recipe as my No fuss whole wheat bread, only this time I used a bit more yeast, organic wheat flour (although I’m not too sure if […]

Leave a Reply

