Minestrone of convenience

As you must have noticed (if you haven’t, do NOW!), I am updating an awful lot of posts today. The reason being, I am looking at all the pics in my camera and matching them agains’t get t the several incomplete drafts on my account.

So, minestrone is one of my favourite meals, like many other one-pot meals that I am a big fan of. Of course, I don’t get quite a few ingredients easily here in India…that is how my minestrone of convenience is born. I have compromised on a few ingredients, making this quite inauthentic recipe, but no compromise on taste and health here.

IMG_3190

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 1 potato peeled and diced
  • 1 carrot peeled and diced
  • 1 leek sliced
  • 3-4 celery stalks sliced
  • 4 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1 bunch of organic lettuce
  • 1/2 cup tomato puree
  • 1 small cup red boiled rice (healthier than pasta)
  • 1/2 cup masoor (Indian lentil, don’t know the exact English name)
  • generous sprinkle of pepper
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Method:

I heated the oil in a non-stick pan and tossed in the garlic and onions. After they softened and turned translucent, I added the other veggies apart from the lettuce.

IMG_3192

I then sauteed them for 2-3 mins and added a cup of water. Once it started simmering, i threw in the chopped lettuce and brought it to a boil.

IMG_3193

I then added the tomato puree, the lentils and rice. I used pre-cooked rice as I had some left over from the previous night.

IMG_3194

I then covered the pot and cooked it on medium heat for about 40 mins and voila!

IMG_3197

If this isn’t goodness in a bowl, I don’t know what is. This soup and a slice of rustic bread and life is good again!

Leave a Reply

