Onion and garlic loaf

I am currently in the tireless baking mode. This leaves me with more bread than I can eat; especially because my husband is not a big fan of breads. Plus, if I make a bread with all purpose flour, the likelihood of me eating more than 2 slices is very slim. I am a borderline maniac when it comes to eating wholesome food.

Anywhoo, this is what I used.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (I use a small cup I have for all measurements. It’s 100 mls)
  • 1 cup maida
  • 1/2 cup warm milk
  • just over 2 teaspoons of active dry yeast
  • 1 tbsp rice bran oil (you can use any neutral tasting oil)
  • 5 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp butter

Method:

I started off by mixing the yeast in milk and 1 tsp sugar and left it alone for 15 mins for it to rise. Meanwhile I mixed the flour and salt with a hand mixer to distribute the salt evenly. I then repeated the same with adding the oil.

IMG_3293

I then added the foaming yeast and water as required to this flour mix and let the dough hooks do the work till I had a well mixed but rather sticky dough. I then emptied the sticky dough on a floured surface.

IMG_3297

I then worked on the sticky mass lightly and for about 10 mins till it turned into a soft ball. I normally push the dough outwards with the end of my palm and then roll it towards me and repeat till it starts behaving. After about 10 mins I poke the dough with my finger. If it springs right back up, I know my dough is ready.

I then put the dough in an oiled bowl and covered with cling.

IMG_3306

I left it covered till the dough  had risen and become twice in size. This took about an hour. I then punched it down, kneaded for another 2 mins.

While the dough rested, I heated butter and sauteed garlic and onion for about 3 mins. Once the mixture had softened I let it cool.

IMG_3305

Once the dough had risen. I punched it down and kneaded for another 2 mins. After that, I spread it in a rough rectangular shape and filled it with the garlic and onion mix. I then gently rolled it and kneaded softly till the mix had distributed evenly. I then shaped it into a loaf, scored it and left it with a wet cloth on top to rise one last time. **Tip**  I learnt later that it’s better to score the loaf after it has risen. This gives it sharper lines.

IMG_3307

Meanwhile, I pre-heated the oven to 200 degrees for about 25 mins with the heat adjusted to top and bottom of the oven. Which was a mistake. and you’ll see why in a second. I then popped the loaf into the oven and let it cook for 5 mins on 200 degrees. The sudden burst allows the bread to rise for the very last time. I then reduced it to 180 degrees and baked for 25 mins.

IMG_3309

While the bread turned out pretty yum, it was definitely not a pretty sight. But hey, I was experimenting and learnt something out of it.

Learning

  • I should have  pre-heated the oven to 180 degrees C instead of 200.
  • I should have turned the heat on only from the bottom and turn the top heat on only for the last 5 mins. This would give it a nice golden brown colour.
3 comments

    • That’s great, I look forward to your visits, feel free to follow me and comment 🙂 a lot of my recipes use self raising flour so watch out for more 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

