Whole wheat and seeds bread

I’d had enough of the brown coloured breads routinely sold as wheat breads. Plus very recently I ordered bread from a local bakery expecting a revelation in freshness and nutty flavour and what I really got was a stale, flaky, characterless bread. That’s why I decided to try making my own whole wheat bread that would be flavourful and healthy.

I used:

  • 3 small cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup warm water, approximately
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup flaxseeds and sesame seeds combined
  • salt
  • 1 tbsp oil to coat the pan and bowl

Method:

First I mixed yeast and sugar to lukewarm water and let it leaven for 15 minutes. In a bowl I mixed the flour and salt. After the yeast had leavened, I added it to the flour along with milk and water and kneaded into a rough dough. I then added the seeds and kneaded a little further. I then tipped the dough onto a floured surface (this time I used maida) and worked the dough until it looked even and firm.

I then oiled a clean bowl and made a let the dough ball rest for an hour,covered with cling. I then punched the dough and kneaded for another 2-3 minutes, shaped it into what roughly looked like a loaf and tipped into a lightly oiled pan. I let this stand for another 15 minutes till the dough had risen again.

I then baked it for 30 minutes in a 175 degrees preheated oven.

IMG_3205

* the water measurement is approximate. Add more or less depending on the measuring cups and the kind of flour you use.

Note: My bread could have had another 5 minutes in the oven. But then I just toasted the slices before eating. It was yum and the seeds give a very nice texture.

 

 

Leave a Reply

