Pickling Away

I feel an added sense of achievement if I manage to make something during weekends that lasts for a longer period. Be it making grissini which can easily last a week if you aren’t a all-things-crackery addict like me or be it making pickles which is even more fulfilling given how insanely satisfying it is to be playing around with fresh, colourful veggies and inhaling the sharp and intense aromas from the vinegar and spices.

Pickled jalapeños

I ordered jalapeños for the first time last week. I was super excited to find them online given that they aren’t an Indian variety and I had not so much as seen a single fresh jalapeno in my life. They came and were slightly disappointing. Just slightly. They were not all green like I expected; most of them were r ed and a lot smaller than the ones that come in bottles. These looked cute nonetheless. More like miniature jalapenos.

IMG_3108

Here’s how I pickled them. I made a preserve solution using

  • 1/2 synthetic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 fat clove of garlic, crushed
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • pepper
  • some oregano

As I brought this to a boli, I arranged my cleaned and dried jalapenos with sharp incisions in my clean glass jar. I then poured the boiling mixture over it and screwed the lid immediately and inverted the jar to let any air escape. This let me tighten the lid further. I had read this tip somewhere but absolutely can’t remember where. I left the bottle outside overnight and kept it in the fridge today. I’ll open it after 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

