Rustic Roast

I am a full on roasted food junkie. I absolutely need to make a chicken and vegetable/just vegetable/ sweet potato & potato roast at least once a week. But since EM has started looking forward to these too, we’ve been having these as our staple dinners along with some equally rustic and hearty soup pretty much 2-3 times a week.

IMG_3034

If I have time to spare and am in a cheerful mood, I chop veggies in huge chinks and marinate them with a variety of stuff like oil, oregano, sumac, crushed garlic,sugar, pepper and the likes. And when I am tired and just want to sit back and relax, I simply chop carrots, onions, mushrooms in huge chunks and potatoes in wedges, all in less than 5 minutes. Throw then in the baking tray, drizzle some olive oil, sprinkle some salt and pepper, throw in some fresh rosemary and bake for 40 minutes in a 200 degrees preheated oven.

Once these go in the oven, I quickly put together a salad or just do nothing and relax as the warmth of the root vegetables and spices infuses the room and mixes with the cinnamon apple fragrance reeds. This is smell of home for me. Well a clean home, which is rare. 😉

I can’t wait to even keep the tray down and dive in even if it means my tongue burns and I can’t taste a thing for the next 10 minutes. By this time, the veggies cool down to an edible temperature and I come back to reality too.

IMG_3039

Leave a Reply

