Rustic Loaf

Originally posted on mostlymisfit on July 10, 2013. Now deleted from there.

I have a passion for all things rustic. And I am a bread fanatic. No wonder then that a perfect rustic loaf-crusty on the outside and soft, chewy in the inside is the epitome of great simple bread for me.

I’ve been reading up a lot of tutorials on making artisan breads at home here.

I came home today determined to try my hand at the first homework lesson from the tutorial. I changed the recipe quite a bit, especially because I recently got hold of fresh yeast and wanted to use that instead of active dry yeast. But I followed the basics. I kneaded the dough for 10 minutes. Then I let it rest for half an hour till it had become double in size.

I then punched it down and kneaded it for another 2 minutes. I left in in an oiled bowl covered with cling. I let it rise to twice it’s once again by leaving the yeast to act for another half an hour. After this i quickly kneaded it again and shaped and scored it. I didn’t do a great job at scoring as I don’t have a good serrated knife.

IMG_3036

These are the ingredients I used for the dough:

  • 3 tsps fresh yeast dissolved in luke warm water and 1 tsp sugar and left it for the yeast to proof
  • 2 cups maida
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt

I mixed the above ingredients to form a sticky dough which i kept adding flour to for kneading. The dough should be springy but not liquid. I baked it for 5 minutes in a 250 degrees preheated oven and then for another 25 minutes at 180 degrees. The bread turned out pretty good for a first attempt.

IMG_3047IMG_3053

Leave a Reply

