Bread Rolls

I love my new oven. I tried to make simple bread rolls and they turned out oh so well. The last couple of times I tried making bread, I was met with disappointment and frustration. With my obsession with health food, I’d tweak the recipe a little bit and substitute more than half the all purpose flour/ maida with wheat flour. And every time my breads turned out half cooked, burnt, too heavy, too hard and always inedible. I finally decided to give into CC‘s advice and just, “follow the recipe without making any edits.” This time I did just that and was rewarded with a batch of yummy, perfectly baked golden brown rolls.

I followed this recipe to the T and here’s the outcome. Excuse the picture quality. It’s taken from my less than basic cell phone.

2013-06-29 21.21.21

My tips: I have a Morphy Richards 40 litre oven. I placed this on the middle rack and the heat was quite a bit for these little rolls. I had to reduce the temperature to 150 degrees within 5 minutes as the tops started looking darker than I expected. I cheated a bit on CC’s advice and added 1/2 a cup wheat flour anyway. It didn’t make any difference.

Leave a Reply

