Big fat stuffed peppers

Originally published on mostlymisfit on July 9, 2013 and now deleted from there.

I had been wanting to make stuffed chilies ever since I fell in love with the waxy parrot green chilies that were showing off in the local market. Finally, I ended up buying a couple last weekend. I didn’t quite have a plan but knew I wanted to make some stuffed dish. After coming from work today, the inspiration bug bit me and here’s what I came up with.
IMG_3029

Ingredients for the stuffing:

  • 1 large onion finely chopped
  • 1 small chili finely chopped
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 3 tsp ground peanuts
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sumac (optional)
  • salt and pepper

Method:

Stuff 5 peppers with the mixed stuffing. Bake for 25 minutes or until cooked in a 200 degrees preheated oven with a dash of oil.

IMG_3031

One comment

  1. […] Peppers have this lovely waxy green colour that make me want to start digging into them as soon as I see them. But I refrain. Because I know how much more delicious roasted pepper are. I have a pretty standard roast pepper recipe for what I call the Big fat stuffed peppers. […]

Leave a Reply

